It’s with great pleasure that we announce the winners and finalists of the 2022 Crazyhorse Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction, & Poetry. The winners will each receive $2,000 and their work will appear in Crazyhorse no. 102 this fall. We received several outstanding entries, and after much deliberation our judges have made the following selections.

Venita Blackburn selected A.J. Rodriguez’s “Bendiciones” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize.

William Pei Shih’s “Burying Big Treasure” and Brian Fortune’s “Karl” were chosen as Fiction Prize finalists.

Aimee Nezhukumatathil selected Katy Hargett-Hsu’s “Internal Dissident” as the winner of the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize.

Cathlin Noonan’s “Ghazal with Louse” and Alexander Lumans’s, “Thinking of Your Heart While Looking at Charles Demuth’s Sail: Two Movements” were chosen as the Poetry Prize finalists.

Matt Ortile selected Courtney Kersten’s “Mysteries Already Deciphered” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize.

Nahal Suzanne Jamir’s “Bahji” and Joshua Dolezal’s “Darkness and Light” were chosen as a Nonfiction Prize finalists.

Congratulations to all of these wonderful writers. We are grateful to everyone who entered and are happy to have had so many exceptional stories, poems, and essays to consider.

In September, we will be transitioning to our new name, swamp pink, and we will continue to host these prizes under that title. We hope to receive more wonderful work to consider when we open for prize entries on January 1, 2023.