We are delighted to announce the winners and finalists of the 2016 Crazyhorse Writing Prizes. The winners will receive $2,000 and their work will appear in Crazyhorse no. 90 this fall. We received several exceptional entries and after much deliberation our judges have made the following selections.

Lara Prescott has won the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize for “Aedinosaur.”

Fiction Judge Joan Silber also selected “Shoot the Moon,” by Karolina Wilk, and “Woods, Kansas,” by  Mike Alberti, as finalists.

Cory Hutchinson-Reuss has won the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize for “At Times What I Wish of the Field I Wish for Myself.”

Poetry Judge Khaled Mattawa also selected “Pineapple Graves, Yamato Colony, Boca Raton,” by Evan McGarvey, as a finalist.

Cathryn Klusmeier has won the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize for “Crucifixions.”

Nonfiction Judge Brenda Miller also selected Brandel France de Bravo’s “Enough” as a finalist.

Congratulations to all of these outstanding writers. We are so grateful to everyone who entered and are happy to have had so many outstanding stories, poems, and essays to consider.

We’re already looking forward to next year’s Writing Prizes, which will begin accepting entries on January 1, 2017. In the meantime, we’ll be accepting entries for Crazyshorts!, our short-short fiction contest, from July 1st to July 31st.