SwampPink Literary Journal

It’s with great pleasure that we announce the winners and finalists of the 2024 swamp pink Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction, & Poetry. The winners will each receive $2,000 and their work will appear in swamp pink no. 13 this September.

We received several outstanding entries, and after much deliberation our judges have made the following selections.

Daniyal Mueenuddin selected Aelita Parker’s “Rotten Teeth” as the winner of the swamp pink Fiction Prize.

Nitya Gupta’s ” Superficial Girls” and Anna Sabat’s “The Examination” were chosen as fiction prize finalists.

Jenny Xie selected Purvi Shah’s “Whistle” as the winner of the swamp pink Poetry Prize.

Luke Burton’s “The Odor of Money and Abduction in the Labyrinth of the Night,” Danielle Harms’ “Desire Lines,” and Matthew Wimberley’s “A Study of Horses” were chosen as poetry prize finalists.

Jaquira Díaz selected Max Pasakorn’s“Chili Padi Girl in a Chili Padi World” as the winner of the swamp pink Nonfiction Prize.

Ruru Hoong’s “Transit” and Kirun Kapur’s “The Breaking Word and the Banana” were chosen as nonfiction prize finalists.

Congratulations to all of these wonderful writers! We are grateful to everyone who entered and are happy to have had so many exceptional stories, poems, and essays to consider.

We’re already looking forward to next year’s Prizes, which will begin accepting entries on January 1, 2025.